Jim Boucher

Jim Boucher has been and continues to be one of the most influential people in Canada, and one of the most successful First Nation leaders. Fort McKay First Nation has been internationally recognized as one of the most successful Aboriginal communities across the Globe. 

Mr. Boucher is a member of the Fort McKay First Nation, which is situated in the heart of Canada’s Athabasca oil sands.  Mr. Boucher held the Chief position of Fort McKay First Nation and Chairman of the Fort McKay Group of Companies for nearly 3 decades.  He led his Nation to strategically and methodically taken advantage of their geographical location to enhance the community’s social and economic conditions through effective partnerships with industry and governments and by developing and sustaining many successful First Nation-owned businesses that create economic wealth and opportunity. The community of Fort McKay First Nation currently enjoys a per capita average annual income, which is higher than both the Alberta and Canada average.

He has played significant roles and won numerous awards such as:

  • Chief, Fort McKay First Nation (FMFN), (1986-1994, 1996-2019)
  • Chairman and President, Fort McKay Group of Companies (1986-2019)
  • President of the Athabasca Tribal Council (ATC)
  • Grand Chief of Treaty 8 First Nations of Alberta
  • Vice-Chairperson, Board of Governors, Keyano College
  • CCAB Aboriginal Lifetime Achievement Award
  • Indspire Award, Laureate, (formerly National Aboriginal Achievement Award), Lifetime achievement
  • Aboriginal Role Model Award
  • Builder of Wood Buffalo award (2017)
  • Lieutenant Governor of Canada patron award, 2016
  • The Power 50 - The 50 Most Influential Canadian Business Leaders (2017)
  • $350 million deal with Suncor Energy to acquire 34.4 percent interest in the East Tank Farm. 
  • Fort McKay First Nation and Fort McKay Group of Companies awarded by the Canadian Council for Aboriginal Business (CCAB) for the Aboriginal Economic Development Corporation of the Year (2018).
  • 2018 Canadian Energy Person of the Year